Vault Connection Enhancements

Frozen Content

Altium Designer 15.0 sees beneficial enhancements to the way in which you connect to your Altium Vault. The option for automatic future sign-in on starting Altium Designer is now more obvious, and you also have the ability to remember, and automatically reuse, a chosen environment configuration. Together, these features allow you to get back in to your vault as if you'd never left.

  1. When signing in to the vault using the DXP » Sign in Altium Vault command, the Connecting to Altium Vault dialog provides an option to Sign me in when I start Altium Designer. This is enabled by default, and streamlines access to the vault by having Altium Designer sign you in whenever it is started.
Automatic sign-in can also be configured from the System — Altium Vault page of the Preferences dialog.
Note that if you sign out and back in within the same session of Altium Designer, you will be presented with the Connecting to Altium Vault dialog again.

Configure future automatic sign-in, as you initially connect to your vault.

  1. Once initially signed in to the vault, you have the option to have the software remember the environment configuration that you subsequently choose in the Select a Configuration dialog. Simply click to select the required environment configuration from all those currently available to your role, and enable the Remember my choice option. This environment configuration will be used automatically, the next time you sign-in to the vault, without presenting the dialog.
Note that this feature is only related to selection of an actual environment configuration. If you choose the option to Work as administrator, no configuration will automatically be used at the next vault sign-in, and you will once again be presented with the Select a Configuration dialog.

Opt to remember your chosen environment configuration so that selection is automated in the future.

The option is actually used to enable, and set, the Use the following configuration option, on the System - Altium Vault page of the Preferences dialog. To use another environment configuration when signing in to the vault, simply choose from the drop-down listing of all those available to your role. This will take effect after signing out and signing back in again.

To disable automatic configuration usage, simply disable the Use the following configuration option, prior to signing out from the vault. The next time you sign in to the vault, you will be presented with the Select a Configuration dialog. You might want to do this if you need to sign-in and work as an administrator.
Disablement of the feature, or changing the environment configuration to use, is only possible provided the System - Altium Vault page of the Preferences dialog is not under management of the Altium Designer Preferences Item, assigned to the environment configuration currently in-force. If it is being managed, you will need to get an administrator to either temporarily remove that Item from the environment configuration - so that you may sign out and back in with the correct choice of environment configuration - or re-release the preferences into a new revision of the Item, with this particular page excluded from being managed.

Once initially enabled, the feature can only be disabled through Preferences. Here, you can also change the environment configuration that is used when next signing into the vault.

  1. If you have opted not to sign in automatically to the vault on startup, and have already connected to your vault, then restarting Altium Designer will require you to manually sign-in to that vault. This can be done from a number of different places within the software, the easiest being the DXP » Sign in Altium Vault command. In the Data Management - Vaults page of the Preferences dialog, signing-in is normally done as part of adding a connection to a vault. But since the vault was already added, there is no method by which to sign-in to it again from this location (unless of course you disconnect and add the connection back afresh). To this end, the Status entry will provide guidance by telling you that you need to use DXP » Sign in Altium Vault to connect to the vault service once again.

If you are not wanting to sign in to your vault automatically on startup of Altium Designer, you will need to sign-in again manually. This is not possible from the Data Management - Vaults page of the Preferences, so you are guided to use the DXP » Sign in Altium Vault command instead.

 

You are reporting an issue with the following selected text and/or image within the active document:
Request Free Trial

Complete this form to request a free 15 day trial of Altium Designer: